

## I. Call to Order

Members present: Yellow - absent

Officers: Barb Bettis, Scott Sternal, Jose Rosa, Donna Kielbasa, Steve Hoyt, Elementary Section Directors: Noemi Hernandez, Lesley Beallis, Amy Grantham, Jenn Strasser, Lori Pettey Secondary Section Directors: Katie Sternal, Courtney Byer, Anne Hitch, Eric Illich, Kathy Cebulski Minority Director: Randy Monger Region 24 Chair: Barb Bettis Region 24 Vice-Chair: Scott Sternal UniServ Director: Jack Janezic

#### I. Consent Agenda

- A. Approval of May 10, 2023 Minutes
- B. Approval of June Agenda The consent agenda was approved.

#### II. New Board Members

A. Welcome Anne Hitch

### III. President's Report

- A. Bargaining Survey Update
  - 1. The 2nd survey went out. Worked with IEA on creating this.
  - 2. Members need to be serious with the survey
  - 3. Members need to read the contract language
  - 4. Too much false information was put out about the contract
  - 5. 325-500 people have responded to the survey
    - a) 500 people answered the first part of the survey then they quit the survey
    - b) Will develop the focus groups based on the survey results
  - 6. Bargaining team right now are Barb, Scott, Jack, and Jenn
  - 7. Have not met with Suzanne about bargaining for fall
    - a) MOU has been signed for summer school pay to be more competitive
  - 8. Email will be sent out about NTO August 3rd
  - 9. Region meeting
    - a) New IEA treasurer
    - b) New IEA president
    - c) Still working on the educational part of the new dues structure
- B. New legislation
  - 1. Tenure from 4 to 3 years
  - 2. Retiring teachers can opt out of observations

- 3. Return to work for retirees
- 4. Over 20 items that affect teachers
  - a) Will get list out to members
- C. 2023-2024 ETA Meeting Schedule
- D. NEA RA is coming up in July
  - 1. We could have 17 delegates we have 8 going

# IV. Treasurer Report

- A. Will be adding more officers to the bank accounts
- V. Adjournment

The ETA Board adjourned at 9:50 A.M. The minutes were approved on August 9, 2023

Respectfully submitted,

Donna Kielbasa ETA Secretary