IEA Region 24

IEA Region 24 is a single local region within the governance structure of the Illinois Education Association (IEA).

The elected leadership of Region 24 are the Region Chair and Region Vice-Chair. The other seats on Region Council are comprised of ETA Section Directors, the minority rep, and a member from the local IEA Retired Chapter. For more information regarding the composition and operating rules of the region please refer to the adopted bylaws.

Region Chair: Doreen Roberts (

Region Vice-Chair: Graciela Aguirre (

Region GPA (Grass Roots Political Activist): Jen Bury (


Region 24 Opportunities

Working People’s Day of Action Rally – February 24th, Chicago, IL  Rally Flyer   NEW EVENT!


Register to attend

Recommendation Hearings: If you’re interested in participating in upcoming public office candidate recommendation hearings please complete the linked form.

Public Office Candidate Recommendation Hearing Participation Interest Form

IEA-Representative Assembly

Information regarding the 2018 IEA-RA can be found on the IEA website.

IEA Delegate Nomination Form 

Professional Development Support

IEA Region 24 supports the professional development of our members. If you are interested in attending a conference or learning opportunity and would like to apply for funding support, complete and submit the application to the Region 24 Council for review.

Be sure to submit your application at least 6 weeks in advance to provide time for review, response and planning.

Relevant documents:

Application links (link to Region 24 online application)

– Ethnic Minority and Emerging Leadership conference (EMELT) application is due by October 20th

– Illinois Education Association Professional Development Conference (IEA PD) application is due by November 7th

– National Education Association Leadership Summit (NEA Leadership) is due by January 9th.

– General Professional Development funding application (General Application) is due at least 60 days prior to the PD.


Reimbursement Guidelines pdf

If you have any questions about IEA Region 24 or the Professional Development Support opportunities please complete this form and your question will be sent to Doreen Roberts,  IEA Region 24 Chair.

The Illinois Education Association-Elgin Teachers Association believes in supporting our members in their professional development to best support ALL of our students.


Region 24 Professional Development Reflections

During the 2016-2017 school year we supported 9 members in the development of their professional practice. They have provided details about their learning experiences for colleagues who may be interested in learning more:

SDE K-2 Conference 2017Attendees Clauidne Cina, Flor Delfin, and Julie Klaput

ASCD Empower17Attendees Lorena Rodriguez, Zindya Guerrero-Ruiz, and Sofia Dominguez

Illinois Teachers of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing ConferenceAttendees Marta Laskus, Zainab Sheth, Veronica Grgin