2018 Spring Elections Nominations are open NOW!!!

The time is open to nominate yourself or other deserving members for leadership positions, Region 24 leadership, committee openings, and NEA Delegates. The link to the survey is below. https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/ETASpring2018 Thank you for taking the time to nominate members for these … [Read more...]

ETA Election Results – 12/5/17

ETA Election Results – December 5, 2017 IEA Delegate Votes 1 Jackie Jagielski 354 2 Jen Bury 351 3 Richard Johnson 339 4 Sandy Citron 325 5 Marty Potts 317 6 Gary Lober 308 7 Isabel Torres 301 8 Marty Renteria 299 9 Sarah … [Read more...]

ETA Election Results

ETA Election Results – March 7, 2017 UPDATED 913 Membership votes Position Secretary                                                                                                         #1 – Sarah Madson (685) #2 – Write-in: Eric Ilich (6), Scott Sternal (3), Garrik Balk … [Read more...]

ETA Election Nominations Now Open

Elections for ETA Officers, ETA Section Directors, Special Education Committee members, Instructional Council representatives, and NEA Delegates will be held on Tuesday, March 7, 2017. - Nominations can be made by any active member (Membership Category begins with "AC"). - Nominations must be … [Read more...]

Welcome Back!!

Esteemed colleagues, I want to welcome back our veteran teachers, counselors, nurses, and social workers and welcome all of our new staff to the 2016-2017 school year.  I am incredibly proud and humbled to have a chance to address all the great members we have teaching, counseling, nursing and … [Read more...]

Thank You All

Serving the ETA and spending my career teaching in U-46 has been more challenging, exciting, fulfilling, surprising, maddening, and rewarding than I ever could have imagined. It would be impossible for me to thank everyone that has touched my time in ETA; students, colleagues of ETA/IEA/NEA, school … [Read more...]

ETA Election Results Revised March 10

Because of one reporting error, there was a mistake in the Section Director Secondary 4 reporting. Jeff Horler, not Donna Streit will serve the next term. We appreciate the understanding of all in the swift recognition and correction. The following report comes from the ETA Election Chair Holly … [Read more...]

Becoming Trauma Informed

Thanks to the Illinois Chapter American Academy of Pediatrics, members from Abbott, Kimball, Larkin, and Gifford Street were able to once again delve into some of the science and systemic issues related to the effects of toxic stress on student learning. Those that volunteered to go through this … [Read more...]

Suspension Down Frustration High

Recent reporting of U-46 suspension numbers dropping seems for some to be a satisfactory measure of our classrooms’ climate and student behavior concerns.  But for the classroom teacher and our students, this data point has come to represent the failure of the system rather than its success. While … [Read more...]

Board Member Posts Controversy

Monday night, February 8th, I hope all ETA will watch the open session of the Board of Education meeting. While I often refer to the importance of following all the conversations and information of the Board, this session is likely to show just how disruptive the personal politics of a few is … [Read more...]